IB overview

1. Mission of International Baccalaureate (IB)

The International Baccalaureate (IB) creates a better and more peaceful world through the spirit of understanding and respecting diverse cultures. The aim is to foster young people who are inquisitive, knowledgeable and caring, and who contribute to building the wider society.

To this end, the IB is working with schools, governments and international organizations to develop challenging international education programs and rigorous assessment mechanisms.

The IB program is designed to encourage students studying in various parts of the world to understand the differences that people have and to recognize that people with different ideas can be right, and to encourage them to continue learning in the face of adversity with a steadfast and sympathetic heart.

2. IB learner profile

In order to achieve the missions listed above, we have specifically listed the following 10 learner images. We will develop a curriculum to develop such people.

People who seek
Knowledgeable people
Thoughtful people
People who can communicate
People with strong belief
Openhearted people
Caring people
People who are ready to face a challenge
Well-balanced people
People who are reflective

3. International Baccalaureate / Japanese Diploma Program Subjects

In the Japanese Diploma Program, students also take compulsory subjects in high school designated by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, and then take some of the following subjects. By doing so, they can qualify for high school graduation in Japan.

Group subjects
Group 1 Language and Literature Literature, Language and Literature, etc.
Group 2 Language acquisition English etc.
Group 3 Individuals and Society History, Economy, Geography, etc.
Group 4 Science Physics, chemistry, biology, etc.
Group 5 Mathematics Mathematics
Group 6 arts drama, music, art, etc.
Core Core subjects Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Extended Essay (EE), Creativity, Action, Service (CAS)
* All three are required to qualify for a diploma.
Students take one subject from each group for about two years. Group 6 can transfer to the other Group subjects. Of these six subjects, three to four subjects will be studied at the advanced level (HL, 240 hours each), and the others at the standard level (SL, 150 hours each).
In the Japanese Diploma Program, two subjects must be conducted in English.
page top